Office of International Affairs


EUA (European University Association)

Izmir University of Economics has been accepted to European Universities Association (EUA) membership after completing the application and evaluation process by EUA. EUA is an organization based in Brussels, representing the main voice of the higher education community in Europe. The mission of EUA is to promote the development of a coherent system of European higher education and research. EUA gives full support to the Bologna Process, which aims to anchor the culture of quality assurance and move higher education in Europe towards a more transparent and mutually recognized system without eliminating diversities.


CMU (Community of Mediterranean Universities)

The Community of Mediterranean Universities (CMU) was set up in 1983, to generate a process of renewal and modernization which would help its adhering members to overcome many serious problems. The Mediterranean University Schools constitute an excellent meeting ground for specialists in the various fields working in the Mediterranean Universities, as well as a fruitful training center for young graduates. CMU also has strong connections with supranational organization like UNESCO, the European Union, the European Council.

Magna Charta Universitatum

The Magna Charta Observatory of Fundamental University Values and Rights is a non-profit organisation based in Bologna, founded by the University of Bologna and the European University Association (EUA). The Magna Charta Observatory aims to gather information, express opinions and prepare documents relating to the respect for, and protection of, the fundamental university values and rights laid down in the Magna Charta Universitatum signed in Bologna in 1988 by 388 Rectors of worldwide main universities.

NICE Network

The Nice Network comprises 35 partner institutions that are located in the Enlarged Europe, North Africa and Asia. The members of this network are highly committed to the Bologna and Lisbon conventions. They subscribe to a jointly agreed Quality Charter which ensures that all members accept and implement the ECTS quality standards in their institutions.

IAU (International Association of Universities)

IAU, founded in 1950, is the UNESCO-based worldwide association of higher education institutions. It brings together institutions and organisations from 120 countries for reflection and action on common concerns and collaborates with various international, regional and national bodies active in higher education.

EERA (European Energy Research Alliances)

The European Energy Research Alliance (EERA) is an alliance of European public research centres and universities. It is one of the cornerstones of the European Strategic Energy Technology Plan (SET-Plan).EERA brings together more than 150 research centres and universities. It aims to strenghten European Energy Research Capacity by creating common research programs about intelligent network, biofuels, CO2 emission and storage, condensed solar energy, geothermal energy, sea energy, nuclear energy, photovoltaic and wind energy.